Donegal name team to play Derry in League opener

Rory Gallagher 2The Donegal team to face Derry in their Allianz League Division One opener on Saturday night has been named and it includes Ciaran McGinley of Kilcar who will make his league debut in defence.
Karl Lacey and Patrick Mc Brearty come in for their first appearances of the year while injury concern, Odhran MacNiallais, is also included.
The Donegal team is: Paul Durcan; Paddy McGrath, Eamonn McGee, Frank McGlynn; Ryan McHugh, Karl Lacey, Ciaran McGinley; Neil Gallagher, Christy Toye; Mark McHugh, Martin McElhinney, Odhran MacNiallais, Patrick McBrearty, Michael Murphy, Martin O’Reilly.
Meanwhile Derry manager Brian Mciver has made six changes to his team from the side that beat an experimental Donegal in the Mckenna Cup at the beginning of the month.
Thomas Mallon, Gerard O’kane and Sean Leo mcGoldrick are among those to return.
Conor McAtamney again starts alongside captain Mark Lynch at midfield and Eoin Bradley is named on the bench.
The Derry team is 1.Thomas Mallon 2. Oisín Duffy 3. Niall Holly 4. John O’Kane 5. Kevin Johnston 6. Gerard O’Kane
7. Mark Craig 8. Mark Lynch (C) 9. Conor McAtamney 10. Benny Heron 11. Daniel Heavron 12. Enda Lynn
13. Sean Leo McGoldrick 14. Emmett McGuckin 15. Barry McGoldrick
With more bad weather expected Donegal GAA officials are monitoring the facilities at Sean MacCumhaill Park in Ballybofey.
The game will be LIVE this weekend on Highland with Oisin Kelly and Declan Bonner in association with McCormick Sports & Leisure Letterkenny


Top Stories