Junior ministers being named today, but Cope must wait for LCC vote

leinster house
Taoiseach Enda Kenny is expected to name his 12 Ministers of State today.
Ten of the jobs will go to Fine Gael TDs, with two being given to independents.
It’s not yet clear whether outgoing Junior Minister Joe Mc Hugh will be reappointed. he previously held the Arts Culture and Gaeltacht brief, but there’s been speculation that position may go to Galway TD Sean Kyne.
Meanwhile, the vote for Leas Cheann Comhairle will not now take place until next week, after Fine Gael yesterday sought an extention to the nomination period to allow the nomination of a candidate by the party.
When nominations closed last Friday, three candidates had been put forward, Sinn Fein’s Sean Crowe, Independent Mattie Mc Grath and the favourite, Donegal Fianna Fail TD Pat The Cope Gallagher.
Whether Fine Gael is allowed an extention to nominate its own candidate remains to be seen.
The posuition holds the same salary as a Junior Minister.


Top Stories