Roma McLaughlin selected for Sue Ronan’s final game as Ireland Manager

Roma McLaughlin
Inishowen’s Roma McLaughlin has been named in the Republic of Ireland’s Women’s squad for the International friendly against the Basque Country at the end of the month.
It’s been a roller-coaster couple of months for the Peamount player who made her senior debut in the 1-0 defeat to Portugal in September and then helped the u19’s secure their place in the European Championships Elite Qualifying Round.
The game against the Basque Country on Saturday the 26th of November, will be the final game for Head Coach Sue Ronan before she concentrates on her role as the Head of Women’s Football within the FAI.
“This will be a tough game against the Basque Country with many of their players also representing the Spanish national team, who we’re very familiar with after our recent qualifying campaign. Between that and the fact we also played them in a friendly in May 2014 we know a bit about them and know it’s going to be a very good test for us, so having that right balance between youth and experience is very important.” said Ronan.
“I’m really looking forward to this game which is my final one as Women’s National Team Head coach. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the role over the last six years and it’s been an absolute honour to manage my country. I believe the mix of experienced players and amount of young talent we now have in this country, the future looks very bright for the next person coming in.”
Republic of Ireland Women’s National Team squad v Basque Country
Goalkeepers: Emma Byrne (Arsenal Ladies), Naoishe McAloone, (Peamount United) Amanda McQuillan (Shelbourne Ladies)
Defenders: Niamh Fahey (Chelsea WFC), Louise Quinn (Eskilstuna United), Savannah McCarthy (Glasgow City), Meabh De Burca (Galway WFC), Jetta Berrill (UCD Waves), Jess Gleeson (Wexford Youths), Niamh Prior (UCD Waves).
Midfielders: Karen Duggan (UCD Waves), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Roma McLaughlin (Peamount United), Alex Kavanagh (Shelbourne Ladies), Julie Ann Russell (UCD Waves), Denise O’Sullivan (Houston Dash).
Forwards: Stephanie Roche (Sunderland Ladies), Leanne Kiernan (Shelbourne Ladies), Aine O’Gorman (UCD Waves), Noelle Murray (Shelbourne Ladies).


Top Stories