Gaa : Magic three in a row for St. Eunan’s

St Eunans

Donegal Senior Football Championship Final
St Eunan’s 0-13 Naomh Conaill 0-7

St Eunan’s captured their third Donegal senior football championship title in as many years thanks to a superior display against Naomh Conaill at Ballybofey. Any hopes of Naomh Conaill causing an upset here were quashed by the defending champions when a sterling second-half performance firmly put their opponents to the sword. Naomh Conaill had been most convincing in the opening stages as they rallied into a 0-4 to 0-1 lead after Dermot Molloy, Leon Thompson and Leo McLoone all landed points. Jim McGuinness was the driving force for the underdogs for many of those singles, but his team failed to register another score for an entire 29 minute after that, which would prove their undoing. Conal Dunne and Brendan Devenney got the Letterkenny side going with points, which eventually see Eunan’s into a 0-5 to 0-4 lead at the break. Dunne continued to send over accurate placed balls after the restart, before Brendan McDyre pulled back a score for Naomh Conaill to cut the deficit to three. Another telling statistic in this one-sided decider was that the winners kicked 13 wides over the hour. Conal Gibbons came off the bench to fire over two quick points for Eunan’s and when county experience of Dunne, Devenney and Rory Kavanagh weighed in more points it was clear that the Dr Maguire Cup was staying in Letterkenny for another 12 months, at least.
St. Eunan’s Manager Eamon O Boyle

St. Eunan’s Captain Brendan Devenney

Man of the Match St. Eunan’s Ciaran Greene


Top Stories