Derry to host the Turner Prize during City of Culture year in 2013

Derry will host the Turner Prize during its year as City of Culture.
The prestigious art awards will take place at Ebrington in 2013, marking the first time it has ever been held outside London.
Culture Minister Carál Ní Chuilín made the announcement at St Columb’s Hall in the city today at a special preview of some of the events to take place next year.
She also unveiled ‘Oakey Dokes’, the official mascot for City of Culture.
The character is a red cartoon squirrel whose design was the winning entry to a competition organised by the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure.
Around 140 events with a cross-community theme have been proposed for 2013.
There are also a number of major capital infrastructure projects that are on-going in the city, including the refurbishment of Ebrington and Fort George to host the celebrations.
Derry will also be home to the All-Ireland Fleadh, which will bring Irish traditional music, language and culture to the city for 10 days next August.


Top Stories