Coleman and Given named in Republic squad for Dutch warm up

Seamus Coleman
Ireland manager Martin O’Neill has named a 35 man squad for the Euro 2016 warm up against the Netherlands on Friday 27th May.
After missing the March friendlies against Switzerland and Slovakia through injury, there are recalls for Shay Given, Marc Wilson, Jeff Hendrick, Harry Arter, Jonathan Walters, and David McGoldrick.
A knee injury kept Given out of action until last month only for a groin problem to trouble him in recent weeks.
Seamus Coleman is also named despite sitting out Everton’s last five games with a hamstring injury.
Arter is also included even though he has not played for Bournemouth recently due to injury while Oxfords Callum O’Dowda gets a first senior call.
US MLS strikers Kevin Doyle and Robbie Keane are also named.
Republic of Ireland squad
Goalkeepers: Shay Given (Stoke City, 133 caps / 0 goals), Darren Randolph (West Ham United, 8/0), David Forde (Millwall, 23/0), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday, 18/0)
Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton, 33/0), Cyrus Christie (Derby County, 4/1), Paul McShane (Reading, 33/0), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa, 16/2), Richard Keogh (Derby County, 11/1), John O’Shea (Sunderland,110/3), Alex Pearce (Bristol City*, 7/2), Shane Duffy (Blackburn Rovers, 2/0), Marc Wilson (Stoke City, 24/1), Stephen Ward (Burnley, 32/2)
Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sheffield Wednesday*, 81/5), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion, 36/5), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City, 70/2), James McCarthy (Everton, 35/0), Jeff Hendrick (Derby County, 19/0), David Meyler (Hull City, 15/0), Stephen Quinn (Reading, 14/0), Darron Gibson (Everton, 25/1), Harry Arter (Bournemouth, 1/0), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City, 28/2), Eunan O’Kane (Bournemouth, 2/0), Anthony Pilkington (Cardiff City, 9/1), Robbie Brady (Norwich City, 22/4), Jonathan Walters (Stoke City, 38/10), Jonathan Hayes (Aberdeen, 2/0), Callum O’Dowda (Oxford United, 0/0)
Forwards: Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy, 143/67), Shane Long (Southampton, 61/15), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town, 2/0), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids, 62/14), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town, 20/0)


Top Stories