Nominees named for Sports Star Awards

Mark Devir


The Donegal Sports Star Awards Committee has released the list of nominees for the 2022 Donegal Sports Star Awards function which takes place on Friday 27th of January in the Mount Errigal Hotel. There are 36 categories with over 120 individuals and teams listed for the first live gala ceremony since January 2020 when the 2019 winners were honoured. The 2020 and 2021 Awards were held virtually due to the pandemic.

It will be the 47th Donegal Sports Star Awards and Chairperson Grace Boyle has congratulated all those that have nominated. Once again Donegal County Council are the exclusive sponsors. Cathaoirleach Cllr Liam Blaney and Chief Executive John McLaughlin will be among the special guests at the official launch of the 2022 Awards next Monday evening in the Mount Errigal. The launch will be done by former Finn Harps boss Ollie Horgan who now assistant-manager at Galway Utd.

Just seven people know at this stage that they will be award recipients on Friday 27th of January. They include Donegal Bay Rowing Club stalwart Patrick Brady who will receive the Appreciation Award. Milford woman Amber Barrett will be honoured with an Historic Achievement accolade in recognition of that never to be forgotten goal at Hampden Park in October that secured the Republic of Ireland senior women’s team a place at the World Cup Finals for the first time ever. Letterkenny AC’s Catriona Jennings will receive the International Achievement Award for her remarkable endurance running successes on both the European and World stages.

In July, Manorcuningham based Mark Devir became the first Donegal man to win the Irish individual Sea Fishing Masters title when it was held in Crosshaven in County Cork. He came out on top after the two day event. That has secured the 34-year-old Lough Swilly Sea Angling Club member his first Donegal Sports Star Award. He will captain the six-man Irish team at the 2023 World Boat Championships in France.

Convoy man Jamie Griffin’s exploits on the global skateboarding circuit is being fittingly acknowledged by the Donegal Sports Star Awards Committee for the first time also. On Wednesday 22nd June the London based skateboarder was crowned the champion of the ‘Battle of the Berrics’ World Challenge in Los Angeles.

Last but not least brother and sister Shaun Sharkey and Helena Melly are being recognised for winning their respective men’s and women’s national senior pool finals. The dream family double was achieved at the NEC in Killarney at the end of May. The siblings went on to represent Ireland at the World Championships.



Patrick Brady, Donegal Bay Rowing Club


Anne Marie McGlynn, Letterkenny A.C.

Mark English, Finn Valley A.C.

Kelly Mc Grory, Tír Chonaill A.C.


Joshua Magee, Raphoe

Rachael Darragh, Raphoe

Rhys McAuley, Raphoe


Killian Gribben, Letterkenny Blaze

Maria Kealy, Letterkenny Blaze

Shannon Cunningham, Letterkenny Blaze


Brett McGinty, St. Johnston

Jack Harkin, Oakleaf A.B.C.

Matthew McCole, Illies Golden Gloves A.B.C.


Bonagee United F.C.

Loughros Point Rowing Club, Ardara

Ulster Karate-Do Federation

Coach / Manager

Gary McGettigan, Setanta Hurling Club

Mick Coleman, Finn Valley Vikings

Paul O’Kane, Letterkenny Rugby Club

Rory McShane, Letterkenny A.B.C.


Dylan Browne McMonagle, Letterkenny

Luke McAteer, Rathmullan

Oisin Orr, Rathmullan

Gaelic Football

Geraldine McLaughlin, Clg An Tearmainn

Niamh McLaughlin, Moville

Eoghán Bán Gallagher, Killybegs


Ryan Griffin, Rosapenna Golf Club

Cian Harkin, Letterkenny Golf Club

Michael Campbell, Portsalon Golf Club


Amber Barrett, Republic of Ireland Women’s National Football Team


James Corry, Lisnagarvey Hockey Club

Leanne Patterson, Raphoe Hockey Club

Luke Witherow, Banbridge Hockey Club

International Achievement

Catriona Jennings, Letterkenny A.C.

Martial Arts

Darragh Kelly, Moville

Emma Dolan, Three Rivers Karate Club Erin McCole, Ulster Karate-Do Federation

Jordan Furey, Buncrana

Lucas O’Donnell, North West Shotokan Karate Club

Motor Cycling

Caolán Irwin, Kilmacrennan

Rhys Irwin, Kilmacrennan

Richard Kerr, Kilmacrennan

Motor Sport

Eamonn Kelly, Frosses

Gary McElhinney, Donegal Town Jack Harris, Convoy

Joseph Kelly, Mountcharles

Kade Gilchrist, Letterkenny

Kyle McBride, Carndonagh


Catherine Grier, Ramelton

Gavin Grier, Ramelton

Leah McMonagle, Ballybofey

Teagan O’Reilly, Donegal Town


Caroline Dolan, Finn Valley Vikings

Cathal McGlynn, A.B.S. Powerlifting

Edyta Piechowicz, Finn Valley Vikings

Maria McShane, Finn Valley Vikings

Michael Coleman, Finn Valley Vikings

Paulina Coleman, Finn Valley Vikings

Primary School (Large >100)

Kilmacrennan N.S.

Scoil an Linbh Íosa, Killymard, Donegal Town

Scoil Naomh Bríd, Muff

Primary School (Small <100)

Raphoe Central National School

Scoil Na Croise Naofa, Dunfanaghy

Scoil Náisiúnta, Ghort a’ Choirce

Scoil Náisiúnta An Choimín, An Chlochán

Primary School Sports Boy

Ethan Buchanan, Scoil Naomh Fiachra, Illistrin

Pádraig Mac Harlaigh, Scoil Náisiúnta, Ghort a’ Choirce

Shay McHugh Scoil Scoil Bhríde, Convoy

Primary School Sports Girl

Faela Houston, Acres National School, Burtonport

Kayla Toner, Scoil Bhríde, Convoy

Mila Rose Conwell Boyle, Niall Mór National School, Killybegs

Jasmine Barrett Doherty, Scoil Mhuire, Milford

Primary School Sports Teacher

Derek Brennan, St. Joseph’s National School, Rathmullan

Eilís McClafferty, Scoil Cholmcille, Leitir Ceanainn

Mary O’Donnell, Scoil Na Croise Naofa, Dunfanaghy


Cian Sweeney, Loughros Point Rowing Club, Ardara

Méabh McNamara, Donegal Bay Rowing Club

Michael O’Boyle, Loughros Point Rowing Club, Ardara

Patrick Boomer, Loughros Point Rowing Club, Ardara

Sea Angling

Mark Devir, Manorcunningham

Secondary School

Loreto Community School, Milford

Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana

St.Columba’s College Stranorlar

St. Eunan’s College, Letterkenny

Secondary School Sports Boy

Alex Anderson, Abbey Vocational School, Donegal Town

Cillian Murphy, St. Eunan’s College, Letterkenny

Donal Gallagher, St. Eunan’s College, Letterkenny

Fintan Dewhirst, St Columba’s Comprehensive School, Glenties

Joseph Gillespie,St. Columba’s College, Stranorlar

Leon Doherty, St. Eunan’s College, Letterkenny

Luke O’Donnell, Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana

Seán McGinley, St. Eunan’s College, Letterkenny

Secondary School Sports Girl

Cache Crumlish, Carndonagh Community School

Caoimhe Gallen, St. Columba’s College, Stranorlar

Emma Doherty, Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana

Jodie Loughrey, Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana

Keri Loughrey, Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana

Kimberly Pearson, Royal and Prior Comprehensive School

Lucy McGlynn, Coláiste Cholmcille, Ballyshannon

Molly Nulty, Loreto Secondary School, Letterkenny

Orlaith Doherty, St. Columba’s College, Stranorlar

Tori Murchan, Abbey Vocational School, Donegal Town

Secondary School Sports Teacher

David Butler, Loreto Community School, Milford

Eoin Leonard, Scoil Mhuire, Buncrana

Michael Kelly, St. Eunan’s College, Letterkenny


Jamie Griffin, Convoy


Emma Doherty, Buncrana

Lee McColgan, Creeslough

Ronan Boyce, Ramelton

Shane Blaney, Letterkenny

Special Athlete

Anna Hennessy, Letterkenny

Emily Reid, Donegal Town

Meg Carr, Letterkenny

Sporting Acknowledgement

Shaun Sharkey & Helena Melly, Dungloe (Cue Sports)


Maia Monaghan, Rossnowlagh Surf Club

John Britton, Rossnowlagh Surf Club


Cody Dunnion, Bangor Swimming Club

Cora Rooney, Ballyshannon Marlins Swim Club

Mona McSharry, Ballyshannon Marlins Swim Club

Shane McCauley, Lifford


Donegal Bay Rowing Club U19 Junior Women’s Double Scull Beach Sprints Team

CLG Ghaeil Leitir Ceanainn Senior Football Team

Finn Valley Vikings Powerlifting Team

Lough Swilly Junior Sea Angling Team

Ulster Karate-Do Federation U18 Male Cadet Team


Top Stories