Its all systems go for the 2014 Donegal International Rally

Sam MoffettThe Donegal International rally was launched last night in Letterkenny.
The 43rd running of the event will be over the weekend of the 20th – 22nd June with just about every top driver in the country as well as from further afield taking part.
The Monaghan boys of Sam Moffett and Gary Mc Philips are the top seededs in the international and national rallys but there’s a host of local drivers seeking a take the titles from them.
That list includes Declan Boyle, Donagh Kelly Garry Jennings, Manus Kelly and Declan Gallagher.
The stages format is very similiar to that of last year with just a few changes to the stages that ran in 2013.
On Friday the competitors will take on six stages in the Newmills, Glenswilly Clogan and Drumkeen areas.
On Saturday, the eight runs will again be based around Ramelton, Milford Kerrykeel, Portsalon, Ballyare, Kilmacrennan, Churchill and Garten.
The final day on Sunday sees the three classics of Glen, Atlantic Drive and Fanad run twice.
Eamon Mc Gee has once again taken over the reigns as Clerk of the Course.

Last years Tarmac Championship winner Gary Jennings won in Donegal in 2012 but the Fermanagh driver knows it will take a huge effort to reclaim back the title.



Top Stories