Bishop Boyce announces positional changes in Raphoe Diocese

bishop boyce
The Bishop of Raphoe, Dr Philip Boyce, has made a number of clerical changes across the diocese.
A total of twelve different changes which include retirements, new appointments and study leaves were announced by Bishop Boyce’s Diocesan Secretary, Fr Michael McKeever.
Bishop Philip Boyce has announced that the Very Rev Canon John Gallagher will be retiring as the Chaplain of Letterkenny General Hospital after 41 years of service.
He will be replaced by Fr Shane Gallagher in Leitermacaward – Doochary, while Fr Mark Byrne (Society of Our Lady of the Trinity) will take up the position in Leitermacaward – Doochary.
Fr Joseph O Donnell Curate in Aughaninshin is moving to Mountcharles, he will be replaced by Fr James Gillespie who moves from Milford, while Fr Adrian Gavigan moves from Mountcharles to Milford.
Newly ordained Fr Stephen Gorman takes up position in Conwal and Leck, he will replace Fr Damien McGroarty who is going for further studies.
Furthermore Fr Paul McGeehan, Curate in Massmount will be joining Ardaghey. Fr Mariusz Semla, is appointed to Massmount, he will also take up a position as Chaplain to the Polish Community in the Diocese.
Fr Hugh Hanlon (Missionaries of the Sacred Heart) will join Ballyshannon, while Liam Boyle, who is to be ordained on September 7th will be Curate in Ardara.

The following is a full list of appointments and changes in the Raphoe Diocese:

Very Rev Canon John Gallagher, Chaplain of Letterkenny General hospital retires after 41 years service in the Diocese

Rev. Joseph O’Donnell, CC Aughaninshin (Church of the Irish Martyrs) to be CC, Mountcharles

Rev. James Gillespie CC Milford to be CC Aughaninshin

Rev. Adrian Gavigan CC Mountcharles to be CC Milford

Rev. Shane Gallagher CC Leitirmacaward – Doochary to be Chaplain in Letterkenny General Hospital

Fr. Mark Byrne (Society of Our Lady of the Trinity) to be CC Leitirmacaward-Doochary

Rev. Damian McGroarty, CC Conwal and Leck (Cathedral Parish) goes for further studies

Rev. Stephen Gorman, newly ordained, to be CC Conwal and Leck

Rev. Paul McGeehan CC Massmount, Fanad to be CC Ardaghey

Rev. Hugh Hanlon, (Missionaries of the Sacred Heart) to be CC Ballyshannon

Rev. Mariusz Semia to be CC Massmount and Chaplain to the Polish Community in the Diocese

Rev. Liam Boyle, to be ordained on the 7th of September will be CC Ardara.