Ulster team named for Cardiff’s Celtic International

Athletics NI and Ulster Athletics have announced the team that will travel to Cardiff for the 2017 Celtic International Cross Country this weekend.
The North West is well represented with five athletes on the team. Donal Farren of Letterkenny ac, Shane Magowan Derry Track Club, Fintan Stewart, City of Derry and Enya Haighney, Omagh Harriers.
Athlete Development Lead Tom Reynolds said, “It is encouraging that this was such a competitive selection process which suggests the performance development base, largely provided by clubs, is getting wider. We hope this will lead to more robust and skilled athletes progressing through to senior ranks and that the strength of this team will continue to build.”
U23 Men
Conal McCambridge (North Belfast Harriers / Matt Shields)
Zak Hanna (Newcastle AC)
Shane Magowan (Derry Track Club / Malcolm McCausland)
Lorcan Magee (Beechmount / Michael Magee)
U23 Women
Katie Moore (North Down AC / Francis Marsh)
Zoe Carruthers (City of Lisburn AC / Heather Ardis)
Edel Monaghan (Enniskillen RC / Tommy Farrell)
U20 Men
Craig McMeechan (North Down AC / Francis Marsh)
Patrick McNiff (Banbridge AC / Heather Ardis)
Fintan Stewart (City of Derry / Sean Laverty)
Eoin McCann (St Malachy’s AC / Joe McCallister)
Donal Farren (Letterkenny AC / Teresa McDaid)
U20 Women
Madison Bowyer (City of Lisburn / Heather Ardis)
Enya Haighney (Omagh Harriers / Conor Moore )
Rioghnach Catney (Beechmount Harriers / Paul Magee)
Laura Gardiner (East Down AC / Peter Morgan)
U17 Men
Conor Maguire (Monaghan Phoenix / Brian Peppard)
Alex Boyd (Lagan Valley AC / Jim McKeown)
Antony McCambridge (St Malachy’s AC / Joe McCallister)
Miceal McCaul (St Colmans College / Rory Friel)
U17 women
Niamh Carr (Springwell / Phillip Tweedie)
Murphy Miller (North Down AC / Francis Marsh)
Katie Agnew (Ballymena & Antrim AC / Pauline Thom)
Rebecca Wallace (North Belfast Harriers / Cathy McCourt)


Top Stories