Winners and Losers as the new Donegal County Council takes shape

There will be a number of fresh faces at County House in Lifford on Friday week as the shape of the incoming membership of Donegal County Council becomes clearer, with the success of the 100% Redress Party one of the big stories. However, a recount in Letterkenny means the story is not yet finished

In Letterkenny, where Donal Mandy Kelly was elected on the first count, followed by Thomas Sean Devine of the 100% Redress Party. They were joined by outgoing members Ciaran Brogan, Gerry McMonagle, Jimmy Kavanagh, Michael McBride and Donal Coyle. As the count neared an end, it became clear that Independent Letterkenny Milford MD Cathaoirleach Kevin Bradley would lose his seat, at which point he was five votes ahead of Aontu’s Mary T Sweeney.

It was then that she called for a recount…………..

The other six of the electoral areas have declared.

In Buncrana, five have been elected. Outgoing councillors Jack Murray, Paul Canning and Terry Crossan will be joined by 100% Redress’s Joy Beard and Fianna Fail’s Fionnan Bradley.

In Carndonagh, outgoing councillors Albert Doherty, Martin McDermott and Martin Farren will be joined by 100% Redress’s Ali Farren who topped the poll. Fine Gael’s Johnny McGuinness lost his seat, and says he is considering his options after lodging a procedural complaint.

He says at one point the returning officer used a statute to eliminate two candidates at one point, thereby potentially altering the course of the election, but had not done so in a similar situation earlier in the count. Mr McGuinness says this may end up in the courts, and is considering his next move……………….

In the Donegal LEA, Michael Naughton and Noel Jordan were elected, with Fine Gael’s Barry Sweeney losing out to his running mate Manus Boyle. Also elected were Independent Jimmy Brogan and outgoing members Niamh Kennedy and Michael McMahon.

In Glenties, Fianna Fail lost the seat won by the late Noreen McGarvey five years ago. Outgoing councillors Michael Cholm Mac Giolla Easbuig, Michael McClafferty, Anthony Molloy and John Sheamais O’Fearraigh are being joined by Dennis McGee, the third member of the 100% Redress Party to be elected.

Milford produced one of the shocks of the election, with the elimination of John O’Donnell, the previous poll topper. Independent Declan Meehan topped the poll, and joins Liam Blaney and Pauric McGarvey in Lifford.

Lifford Stranorlar sees two new faces with poll topper Independent Martin Scanlon and Sinn Fein’s Dakota NicMheanman. They’re joined by outgoing members Gary Doherty, Frank McBrearty, Martin Harley and Patrick McGowan. Outgoing Fianna Fail Councillor Gerry Crawford lost his seat.