Danny Cullen named Player of the Year

Donegal’s Danny Cullen was honoured last night at the GAA/GPA All Stars in Croke Park.
The forward who was a key figure for the county in helping Donegal to win the Nicky Rackard Cup in June, was named as the competitions  Player of the Year for 2013.
Danny was also one of four Donegal members who were given their Champions 15 award.
Lee Henderson, Sean Mc Veigh and Christopher Mc Dermott also picked up awards as did the Tyrone pair  Martin Grogan and Damien Case , while in the Christy Ring Champion 15, Derry’s Paddy Kelly lifted his award.
Dublin and Clare were the big winners on the night.
Dublin’s Michael Dara MacAuley and Jack McCaffrey were named as the Senior Footballer and Young Footballer of the Year respectively. The Boys in Blue also took home six All-Star awards, making it a memorable night for the All-Ireland Champions.
Beaten All Ireland finalists Mayo won four awards, Monaghan and Kerry had two winners each, while Tyrone’s Sean Cavanagh also picked up an award.
Meanwhile, Tony Kelly completed a stunning 2013 for All-Ireland Hurling Champions Clare, by becoming the first player to win both the Hurler and Young Hurler of the Year awards in the same season.
Eight hurlers from the Banner County were also named as All-Stars earlier in the week.
Cork and Dublin each claimed three spots on the team, while Limerick had one winner.