Audio Update – Property Tax rate to remain unchanged in Donegal

Donegal County Council
Donegal County Council have voted to keep the property tax valuation in the county as it is.
Cllrs voted in favour of a freeze by 20-9. The FG and FF groupings voted in favour along with Independent Cllrs Tom Connaghan, Ian McGarvey, Nicholas Crossan and Niamh Kennedy.
Sinn Fein and Cllr Frank McBrearty voted against. Three Cllrs abstained from the vote (Dessie Shiels, Michael Cholm Mac Giolla Easbuig and John Campbell).
CEO of the Council, Semaus Neely has told members that any reduction in property tax would mean a reduction in services.
He said that a 15% reduction would mean the local authority losing €1.65m.
Speaking afterwards SF Cllr Mick Quinn said he was disappointed with the decision………..

A short time ago, County Manager Seamus Neely spoke to Barry Whyte in Lifford…………


Top Stories