St Johnston to face Phoenix in Irish Senior Cup 1st Rd

Holders Waringstown have been handed a home tie against Bready in the first round of the 2016 Irish Senior Cup draw which was made in Dublin earlier today by Cricket Ireland President Dr Murray Power and Andy Clement – Chairman of the Cricket Committee.
North West side Bready were runners-up in their only final appearance in 1995
NW League Champions Coleriane host beaten finalists Merrion, 1998 winners Strabane play host to 2002 victors Malahide, while Drummond entertain Carrickfergus.
Two times winners Brigade (1996 and 1999) take on NCU Challenge Cup winners CIYMS in a tie which will see former players Chris Dougherty, Johnny Thompson and Trevor Britton returning to Beechgrove.
Donemana – who tasted their sole success in 2000 have home advantage over Derriaghy and Muckamore are home to Eglinton.
2009 winners Leinster play Fox Lodge, while five times winners North County entertain Ardmore at Balrothery and 1986 champions Phoenix face Donegal side St Johnston – the first NW winners back in 1987.
The first round o will take place on Saturday 7th of May.
Irish Senior Cup Round One
Cork County v Railway Union
Strabane v Malahide
Coleraine v Merrion
Drummond v Carrickfergus
Brigade v CIYMS
Donemana v Derriaghy
Instonians v Clontarf
North Down v YMCA
Muckamore v Eglinton
Waringstown (holders) v Bready
The Hills v CSNI
Pembroke v Lisburn
Leinster v Fox Lodge
North County v Ardmore
Phoenix v St Johnston
Bye: Co Galway
IRISH National Cup Round One
Cork Harlequins v Ballaghaderreen
Co. Sligo v Limerick
Glendermott v Lurgan
Burndennett v Woodvale
Ballyspallen v Greystones
Creevedonnell v Civil Service (LCU)
Cliftonville v Sion Mills
Academy v Newbuildings
Bangor v Dundrum (LCU)
Armagh v Terenure
Balbriggan v Killyclooney
North Kildare v Bonds Glen
Laois v Saintfield
Rush v Downpatrick
Byes: Co.Kerry, Midleton


Top Stories