Kelly & Brogan take West Cork Rally wins

Donagh Kelly
Donegal Motor Club members dominated the winners placings on the weekends West Cork Rally, the second round of the Irish Tarmac Championship.
For the third year in a row Donagh Kelly took victory in his Ford Focus wrc.
With Conor Foley on board calling the notes, the crew had a 1 minute and 26.4 seconds advantage at the end fourteen stages.
The Citroën of Keith Cronin and Mike Galvin finished second while the Subaru of Garry Jennings and David Moynihan came home third.
Derry’s Tony McDaid finished 7th in the Fiesta with Darragh O’Riordan and Inishowen’s Joseph Mc Gonigle and Ciaran Geaney were 10th in the Skoda.
The all Donegal crew of Brian Brogan and Damien McGettigan won the National event of the rally.
They took victory in their Ford Escort Mk2 by just 6.3 Sec from Alan Ring in a Fiesta and Adrian Hetherington’s Escort in third.
It’s a second win on a Tarmac Championship round for Brian, who last won in Galway 2007 while it’s a first for his navigator Damian.
Eleswhere in the National,  John Bonner and Leon Jordan finished 6th in an Escort while Kyle and Dale McGettigan brought their Corolla home in 10th.


Top Stories