More disappointment for Declan Boyle at Cavan Rally

Declan Boyle
Monaghan’s Sam Moffett and his Cavan co-driver James Fulton in their Ford Fiesta R5 won the Hotel Kilmore Cavan Rally, round four of the Triton Showers National Rally Championship.
They finished 29.5 seconds ahead of the Clonmel/Cork pairing of Roy White/James O’Brien, who have extended their lead of the series to 15 points.
Monaghan’s Josh Moffett and his Antrim co-driver John Rowan (Fiesta R5) were 46.1 seconds further behind in third.
White (Fiesta WRC) set the initial pace, on the first of the day’s nine stages he was 1.1 seconds in front of the similar car of Donegal’s Declan Boyle with Sam Moffett’s Fiesta R5 3.2 seconds further behind in third. Daragh O’Riordan slotted his Fiesta WRC into fourth spot, the top six also featured the Fiesta R5 of Josh Moffett and the Subaru S12B of top seed Peadar Hurson.  Frank Kelly retired his Escort with a broken axle.
Boyle dominated the remaining two stages of the loop and led the Fiesta R5 of Sam Moffett by 12.2 seconds with White 4.8 seconds further behind in third – despite having hit a chicane bale on S.S. 2.  Leader Boyle was concerned about the transmission of his Fiesta that malfunctioned en-route to the Cavan service park.
Behind the top trio, fourth placed O’Riordan was untroubled as Josh Moffett (Fiesta R5) held fifth followed by six-time Cavan winner Niall Maguire.
Top seed Peadar Hurson (Subaru WRC) reckoned the suspension of his new car was far too soft.  Elsewhere, top two-wheel drive exponent Gary McPhillips (Escort) was eighth overall even though he hit a chicane bale on the third stage.  The top ten also featured Subaru WRC of Stephen McCann and the Escort of Damien Tourish.
Boyle punched in the best times on S.S. 4 and 5 and seemed set to complete the loop but was slowed when he came upon Hurson, who had spun his Subaru.  At the Cavan service park Boyle led Moffett by 4.7 seconds with White 23.2 seconds further behind in third.  O’Riordan retired from fourth spot when his Fiesta WRC slid wide, mounted a bank and broke the steering arm.
Meanwhile, Josh Moffett (Fiesta R5) moved up to fourth even though his Fiesta R5 was overheating forcing him to reduce power. Niall Maguire (Subaru) held fifth with Leonard moving into sixth.
Boyle retired on S.S. 7 with alternator problems as Moffett went on to take victory.  White took maximum points including three from the Power Stage. Josh Moffett (Fiesta R5) was third with Niall Maguire, second in the Triton series, finishing fourth.
1. S. Moffett/J. Fulton            (Ford Fiesta R5) 1h. 07m. 10.7s.
2. R. White/J. O’Brien (Ford Fiesta WRC) 1h. 07m. 40.2s.
3. J. Moffett/J. Rowan (Ford Fiesta R5) 1h. 08m. 26.3s.
4. N. Maguire/E. Sherry (Subaru WRC) 1h. 09m. 02.8s.
5. P. Hurson/D. Connolly (Subaru WRC) 1h. 09m. 43.1s.
6. S. Leonard/P. McLaughlin (Subaru WRC)  1h. 09m. 52.4s.
7. S. McCann/D. Fleming (Subaru WRC) 1h. 10m. 30.5s
8. K. Barrett/S. Mullally (Subaru WRC) 1h. 10m. 33.8s.
9. G. McPhillips/P. Sheridan (Ford Escort) 1h. 10m. 37.1s
10. G. Kiernan/R. Moore (Ford Escort) 1h. 11m. 11.5