Moville’s Hegarty sisters receive Ladies All-Star Awards

Ciara Hegarty receiving her All-Star Award. Photo Credit: @SportTG4 Twitter

There were celebrations on the double for the Hegarty’s from Moville last night at the 2017 TG4 Ladies Football All-Stars at the Citywest Hotel.
Donegal Senior players Ciara and Niamh were both honoured with awards, a rarity for sisters to be honoured in the same year.
It was only the second time such a feat had been achieved, with Monaghan duo Sharon and Cora Courtney picking up awards in 2013.
Both Niamh and Ciara picked up their first awards last night, with Karen Guthrie, Yvonne McMonagle and Geraldine McLaughlin also nominated.
Cóilín Duffy spoke to Ciara at the awards ceremony.

Cóilín also spoke with Niamh at the awards ceremony.

All-Ireland Senior Champions Dublin were the big winners with six awards, Mayo got three, with two for Kerry and one each for Armagh and Cork.
Derry’s Emma Doherty was voted as the Players Junior Player of the Year; Tipperary’s Aisling McCarthy took the Intermediate award, while Dublin’s Noelle Healy was named as Senior Players Player of the Year.
2017 TG4 Ladies Football All-Star team:
1. Ciara Trant (Dublin) – 1st award
2. Emma Spillane (Cork) – 1st award
3. Sarah Tierney (Mayo) – 1st award
4. Rachel Ruddy (Dublin) – 2nd award
5. Caroline Kelly (Kerry) – 1st award
6. Ciara Hegarty (Donegal) – 1st award
7. Leah Caffrey (Dublin) – 2nd award
8. Lorraine Scanlon (Kerry) – 1st award
9. Aileen Gilroy (Mayo) – 1st award
10. Aimee Mackin (Armagh) – 2nd award
11. Niamh Hegarty (Donegal) – 1st award
12. Nicole Owens (Dublin) – 1st award
13. Sinéad Aherne (Dublin) – 6th award
14. Cora Staunton (Mayo) – 11th award
15. Noelle Healy (Dublin) – 3rd award


Top Stories