Ní Chuinneagáin leads Coláiste Ailigh to All Ireland Glory

22 January 2019; The Colaiste Ailigh team celebrate with the cup after the Subway All-Ireland Schools Cup U16 C Girls Final match between Colaiste Ailigh, Donegal and Laurel Hill Limerick at the National Basketball Arena in Tallaght, Dublin. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

Coláiste Ailigh (Donegal): 59
Laurel Hill (Limerick): 26
Donegal’s Coláiste Ailigh were convincing winners of the Subway Schools U16 C Girls
Cup Final at the National Basketball Arena in Tallaght on Tuesday as they ran out
59-26 point winners over Limerick’s Laurel Hill.
It was the Limerick’s side second final of the day, having lost out in the U19C battle
this morning, but the players who crossed over the two teams certainly didn’t show
any sign of fatigue, as they battled right up until the final buzzer.
It was a Shannon Ní Chuinneagáin inspired performance for the Donegal side that
saw them home to glory as she put in an MVP display that included a whopping 40
points, but she was also key for them on both ends of the floor.
Laurel Hill had the better of the opening few minutes with Jennifer Duffy, Alex
McInerney and Jana Zundel edging them ahead, but as the quarter ticked on,
Coláiste Ailigh hit their stride and Shannon Ní Chuinneagáin and Shauna Ní Uiginn
added scores, with the former notching 16 of her side’s opening quarter 18 point
tally, to see them lead 18-7 at the end of the first.
Ní Chuinneagáin took over the reins of the game in the second quarter, driving hard
at the Laurel Hill defense and, despite good work from Zundel, McInerney and Lily
O’Halloran, Coláiste Ailigh led 31-14 at the half.
A spirited display from Laurel Hill in the second half kept their scoreboard ticking
over but in the face of such a poised and polished performance from Ní
Chuinneagáin, supported by a great display from Shauna Ní Uiginn, they just couldn’t
close the gap and she finished out the game with 40 points to see her side home to
Cup glory.
Keith Cowan is the Coláiste Ailigh Coach:

COLÁISTE AILIGH (DONEGAL): Ellie Ní Mhaoldomhnaigh, Erin Ní Dhochartaigh, Annie
Nic Giolla Iontóg (2), Megan Ní Chearnacháin, Méabh Ní Shiadháil, Sinead Nic
A’tSaoir (2), Shannon Ní Chuinneagáin (40), Michaela Ní Ghallchóir, Kayleigh Nic
Aonghusa (2), Siúbhán Ní Dhomhnaill, Shauna Ní Uiginn (13)
LAUREL HILL (LIMERICK): Jana Zundel (7), Lily O’Halloran, Jennifer Duffy, Ashling
Fahy, Emily Dickinson (3), Alexa McInerney (10), Sarah Cantillon, Sinead O’Brien, Eve
O’Leary, Mia Pican, Roisin Ryan.
MVP: Shannon Ní Chuinneagáin (Coláiste Ailigh)


Top Stories