Nailbiting count concludes as Pringle takes fifth Donegal seat

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on linkedin

The five TDs to represent Donegal in the 32nd Dail will be Charlie Mc Conalogue (FF), Pearse Doherty (SF), Pat The Cope Gallagher (FF), Joe mc Hugh (FG) and Thomas Pringle (Ind).
It’s been clear since last night that the gap between Thomas Pringle and Sinn Fein’s Padraig Mac Lochlainn would be small, and for a long time, a full recount seemed inevitable.
However, shortly before 9 o’clock, as everyone awaited the result of the 13th count, the distribution of Joe Mc Hugh’s surplus, Padraig Mac Lochlainn confirmed he had conceded…….

A short time later, Returning Officer Geraldine O’Connor confirmed the count had ended…………

Speaking afterwards, Thomas Pringle reflected on what’s been a rollercoaster experience, and the difficulties of expanding into a new five seater constituency……….

Picture – Blaithin Pringle.


Top Stories