Garry Jennings and Donegal’s Rory Kennedy win the Mourne Rally


B.McDaid/Cristeph Studio
PIC: B.McDaid/Cristeph Studio

Garry Jennings and Donegal’s Rory Kennedy won the Mourne Rally today as they warm up for next weekend’s Donegal Rally.
Jennings, from Fermanagh, and Kennedy, from Donegal, finished 2 minutes and 44.1 seconds ahead of their rivals in their Subaru Impreza WRC.
They were being chased by Derek McGarrity and James O’Reilly, who finished in second position in their Ford Fiesta WRC.
Damian Toner and Patrick McCrudden finished third in their Talbot Sunbeam, while David Armstrong and Paul Mullholland came fourth in their Ford Escort MkII.
This year’s Mourne Rally, which is run by Newry and District Motor Club, was round four of the MSA ANICC Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship 2016.
1. Garry Jennings / Rory Kennedy – Subaru Impreza WRC: overall 57:22.3
2. Derek McGarrity / James O’Reilly – Ford Fiesta WRC: +2:44.1
3. Damian Toner / Patrick McCrudden – Talbot Sunbeam: +3:08.0